Documenting

Features and functionality that allows you to turn your design into a communication tool for your team.

Project Versioning

An overview on how to create, manage and restore versions of your Voiceflow project.

Overview

Version control, is an important practice in design workflows to ensure there is tracking and changes are managed in conversation design.

In Voiceflow, they are especially useful since they help design teams work cross-collaboratively with each other, and cross-collaboratively with other stakeholders such as developers & data scientists.

Version control software keeps track of every version of the assistant/conversation. For example, if a mistake is made, designers/developers can turn back the clock and compare earlier versions of the conversation to help mitigate the mistake while minimizing disruption to all team members & collaborators.

Create a Version

Versioning lets you save an official snapshot of your project at a chosen point in time. You can use versions to document a project’s life cycle so you can view or revert back to it later.

Keep track of changes you've made to your files with version history. This is a powerful and important feature to keep in mind, as you are developing and deploying your conversations in live and/or production environments.

To create a version, use the keyboard shortcut Shift + ⌘ + S (Shift + Ctrl + S on Windows). Enter your version name and hit Save.

When prompted to create a New Version, you will have the option to give your new version a name.

Note: Once a new version is named, configured & created, please give a few seconds for the confirmation notification 'Saved new version'  + [Your Version Name] to appear.

Publish a Version

The action of publishing a new version will overwrite the existing/production (live) version of your project, which you can manage and monitor the progress, under Versions. Keep in mind this will leave your draft(s) untouched but will affect the production version.

Learn more about Production/Dev versioning and its significance under our Developer documentation here.

Depending on your project type, you can publish a version (production) by navigating and clicking Publish (↻), located between the Share and Run Test buttons on the top navigation bar header. If you are using One-Click Publish type projects (ie. Alexa or Dialogflow), you will have to click the respective logo of the platform to Publish/Upload.

When prompted to publish a production version, you will have the option to give your new version a name.

Note: Once a new version is named, configured & created, please give a few seconds for the confirmation notification 'Version successfully published' to appear.

View, Manage & Restore a Version

To view and manage your project’s versions, click Project Settings in the left sidebar or by inputting keyboard numerical shortcut (4) on the main canvas screen, and navigate to Versions.

When you access the Versions tab, you’ll see:

Version History - A list of all your project historic versions

Date - date it was created

Production vs. Draft - its Production status

User - which collaborator/user from your workspace managed that version

At the last column of each version's respective row, you can navigate to the (...) icon to have access to the Version management features of Preview and Restore for the production/deployed version management and status toggling.

Preview a Version

Hit Preview (under the above menu) to view the specified version’s content in a new tab (on browser) or window (via the Desktop App).

Restore a Version

If you want to roll back to a version, click the Restore option in the above menu, or for older versions of Voiceflow, hit the blue Restore Version icon (next to Preview). 

Note: This action can NOT be undone. Make sure you’ve previewed the version and confirmed this sequence, and are expecting overwriting of your recent version(s)/change(s) before reverting.

When you restore a version, Voiceflow creates a new automatic version of the current designer state. Once confirmed, Voiceflow will send a pop-up notification: 'Version successfully restored' and refresh the tool with the new loaded version.

Other docs in this section